Skip to main content

ARC Men’s Tennis Wins Two ITA Awards, Nominated for Four Other Awards


The 2018 California community college ITA award ceremony featured many Beavers prominently, both as nominees and as winners. Mikey Vizcarra won the prestigious ITA Region I Sophomore of the Year Award as the best sophomore player in the state of California. Pete Gibson was chosen for the ITA Region I Most Improved Player Award, meaning he had improved more than any other sophomore player in the state. Vizcarra and Gibson are the first ARC players to win these respective awards in program history. Head coach Bo Jabery-Madison (Coach of the Year), freshman Paul Bhatia (Freshman of the Year),  freshman Sam Hall (Player to Watch), and sophomore Vizcarra (Arthur Ashe Award) were each nominated for other ITA awards.  Coach Jabery-Madison has won Coach of the Year Award twice (2012 & 2014) and ARC players have won the Freshman of the Year Award three times (Lovedeep Singh 2014, Seppi Capaul 2015, Cody Duong 2016). Cody Duong (2017) is the only ARC men's tennis player to have won the Arthur Ashe Award in program history. It was a great night for the Beavers which represented an amazing season on the courts. Next up for ARC is the Individual Championships at Ojai.